Uncategorized

The damning truth

The damning truth is that.. even though I may turn a few heads on the streets – the heads that DO turn are more likely to be of the laborer sort than the sort I would actively want to attract. The damning truth is that.. either I was never that pretty to begin with, or I got uglier along the way. These days I find myself relegated to the ‘sidekick’ sort of role, the female buddy, the female wingwoman, the female with younger prettier friends – ‘please introduce me to them Amandina??’ I have an over-inflated esteem which has served me well over the years, cocooning me in an indestructible bubble of self-faith, worth and belief. But looks (the diminishing, or lack thereof) could well be my undoing!

And you know what’s funny? No matter how much makeup I try to put, or how much weight I try to lose – I will never truly be prettier. How’s that for a damning truth that cannot be rectified!?

Standard

2 thoughts on “The damning truth

  1. Cath* says:

    Honey!! Where is your self-confidence hiding?!

    If I was a male walking on the street ( a hot charming male) I will be the first to turn heads and look at you!

    In my eyes, you are pretty and ‘too’ skinny as a matter of fact.

    No need to feel doubtful about yourself, ’cause I’m sure there are many females out there who wish they were as pretty as you are!

    🙂

  2. Haha… nooo it’s not that I’m not confident anymore……
    I mean, it doesn’t affect me. I can exist happily as a sidekick and I still have the same amount of fun. It’s just a realization!

    P.S. Did this post sound depressing? I had lots of worried emails/pings/smses re this. BTW I’m not depressed!

Leave a Reply

