Uncategorized

Gunning Fox

Here’s something really interesting that I learnt at my full-day training today: Gunning Fox Index – a test designed to measure the readability of a sample of English writing. Generally high-paying journalists and editorial teams have to hit a GFI of below 10, depending of course on house style. I would totally run a GFI test on my writing, except that I don’t have a lot of time on my hands now. Counting ‘complex’ words – loosely defined as anything with 3 syllables and above – has to be a manual chore.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Gunning Fox

  1. SY says:

    Hey, I learnt something similar at one of my training courses too! Did you know Microsoft Word can do an auto analysis? It’s called the Flesch Reading Ease / Flesch-Kincaid Grade Level (rather similar to the Gunning Fox Index you’ve mentioned).

    Go to Tools, Options, Spelling & Grammer Tab. Check on Show Readability Statistics. Click OK.
    The next time you write a doc, run the Spelling & Grammer check. It will show the Readability Stats at the end. This guy did a write-up on what the figures mean: http://juicystudio.com/services/readability.php

    Just wanted to share since I’ve been a silent reader of your blog (but a customer of The Scarlette!) and really enjoy your writing! 🙂

  2. hahaha- thanks very much! \

    btw readers = someone left me a message on my wall last night telling that i mis-referenced gunning fog as gunning fox… (i was like oh, ok lor..) – so yeah, just so you know… lol

Leave a Reply

